In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:46 am

For me, "People are strange" - Echo & the Bunnymen,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WT6x8bY5asw

and "Boys of summer" - The Ataris.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwpjAQPirE0

C'mon, folks - bring it on!! Laughing

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5213
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by bowenjaybee on Wed Feb 02, 2011 1:19 pm

2 songs that spring to mind are both from my "Indie Kid" days....

Dinosaur Jr's version of The Cure's Just Like Heaven...A classic

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJLOr8S2d2E


and the Wedding Present's version of Make me smile (Come up and see me)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKuY2Ebe4So

I was a big fan of The Wedding Present in my teens and the bass player used a Thunder 1A in the bands early days! Cool

bowenjaybee
Senior Member

Number of posts : 560
Age : 44
Location : Bradford, West Yorkshire . UK
Registration date : 2010-02-22

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Barry on Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:34 pm

Pretty much a no-brainer for me: Harry Nilsson, Without You:
Without You

Who was he covering you ask? Badfinger, John Ham:
Without You

Ham wrote a terrific song, but Harry made it unforgettable. He had the most brilliant vocalizations since Sinatra.

_________________
"A little song. A little dance. A little seltzer down your pants." -Chuckles the Clown


GUITARS : http://legend.barryeames.com/guitars.html
MUSIC/PIX/VIDEOS: http://getback.barryeames.com (including Spectrum ST)

Barry
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 6027
Age : 71
Location : Port Weller, St. Catharines, Canada
Registration date : 2009-05-01

http://www.barryeames.com

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Westbone on Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:54 pm

Hallelujah by VX220NA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOU_K3rT36U

Hot for teacher by 17586063

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_viRvjxGP-A&feature=related


affraid Twisted Evil

lol!

Westbone
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 4778
Location : Redbridge
Registration date : 2008-12-28

http://www.chruler.com/

Back to top Go down

In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by fish on Wed Feb 02, 2011 3:47 pm

I dare you to watch this, you could be there all night. Is it a girl is it boy, what ever, you'll be mesmerise & turned onto metal as well.

Apparently the hands are the clue, Mad


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OOx6HftlrHc&feature=related

fish
Senior Member

Number of posts : 277
Location : UK.
Registration date : 2010-12-16

http://www.fisherrestoration.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by grogg on Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:01 pm

Im sure I saw those legs already, anyway Im with Barry.

grogg
Senior Member

Number of posts : 1076
Location : Cardiff
Registration date : 2008-11-28

Back to top Go down

In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by fish on Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:13 pm

Im sure I saw those legs already, anyway Im with Barry.

Agreed, but thought I'd spice it up a bit. Very Happy

fish
Senior Member

Number of posts : 277
Location : UK.
Registration date : 2010-12-16

http://www.fisherrestoration.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:55 pm

Barry wrote:Pretty much a no-brainer for me: Harry Nilsson, Without You:
Without You

Who was he covering you ask? Badfinger, John Ham:
Without You

Ham wrote a terrific song, but Harry made it unforgettable. He had the most brilliant vocalizations since Sinatra.

Pete Ham; hanged himself when depressed about the shonky record deal he had which went bad. Tom Evans the bass player also hanged himself; gruesome eh! Fabulous band; on high rotate on my iPod.... Wonderful cover, Barry; I agree! Very Happy

Westbone, if ever a song needed the pee taken out of it, it is Hallelujah! That said, I do like Jeff Buckley's take on it....

Come on guys; proper, commercial type covers that have had radio airtime.... we all know of people like the wee Jap lass who can do note for note copies of riffs but to take an already reasonably successful song and give it your own twist is quite a feat!


Last edited by corsair on Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:03 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5213
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Westbone on Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:03 pm

Fish, you obviously didn't play my 2nd choice.

some guitarist though.

Westbone
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 4778
Location : Redbridge
Registration date : 2008-12-28

http://www.chruler.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by bowenjaybee on Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:12 pm

What about this cover version for all you old rockers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0wM58YXp2x0

There must be a Westone pointy in there lol!

bowenjaybee
Senior Member

Number of posts : 560
Age : 44
Location : Bradford, West Yorkshire . UK
Registration date : 2010-02-22

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Westbone on Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:23 pm

[quote="Barry"]Pretty much a no-brainer for me: Harry Nilsson, Without You:
Without You


Who was singing, the wolf.

Westbone
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 4778
Location : Redbridge
Registration date : 2008-12-28

http://www.chruler.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by fish on Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:31 pm

No Westbone, I never went back to your post after watching your first post which led me to the legs, not surprising really. lol!

Ye know I wondered about the Wolf?






fish
Senior Member

Number of posts : 277
Location : UK.
Registration date : 2010-12-16

http://www.fisherrestoration.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Westbone on Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:32 am

Joe bonamassa---- A new day yesterday.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-gBrLKFoTPo

Westbone
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 4778
Location : Redbridge
Registration date : 2008-12-28

http://www.chruler.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by boutjp97 on Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:34 am

Inca Roads (Frank Zappa Cover) on acoustic. It counts as a cover even though Mike Keneally (the guitarist) played with Frank for a bunch of years.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8DxA1rLmo4

boutjp97
Senior Member

Number of posts : 306
Age : 43
Location : Boston, New York USA
Registration date : 2008-05-16

http://www.facebook.com/jason.bouton

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by DuoFuzz on Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:39 am

OK, this is'nt strictly the best cover, but they are kids after all!

Check out the skill of the lead guitarist. Shocked

Sails of Charon - Cover

depressing, is'nt it. No

DAN.

DuoFuzz
Senior Member

Number of posts : 640
Age : 39
Location : Newcastle Upon Tyne, U.K.
Registration date : 2009-05-18

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by vidmachine on Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:42 pm

Stevie Ray Vaughn version of Little Wing was pretty good!

vidmachine
Registered Member

Number of posts : 7
Registration date : 2011-01-21

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Barry on Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:54 pm

vidmachine wrote:Stevie Ray Vaughn version of Little Wing was pretty good!
Anything by SRV was "pretty good"!

_________________
"A little song. A little dance. A little seltzer down your pants." -Chuckles the Clown


GUITARS : http://legend.barryeames.com/guitars.html
MUSIC/PIX/VIDEOS: http://getback.barryeames.com (including Spectrum ST)

Barry
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 6027
Age : 71
Location : Port Weller, St. Catharines, Canada
Registration date : 2009-05-01

http://www.barryeames.com

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Barry on Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:01 pm

Westbone wrote:Who was singing, the wolf.
Hey now, don't be dissing my vocal hero. Harry was a true original and a tad, um, weird. No, the wolf wasn't singing, he wasn't even in the studio! clown
Not a lot of video on Harry, he was a bit shy about public performances, and a drunk, but God, could he friggin' sing!!

_________________
"A little song. A little dance. A little seltzer down your pants." -Chuckles the Clown


GUITARS : http://legend.barryeames.com/guitars.html
MUSIC/PIX/VIDEOS: http://getback.barryeames.com (including Spectrum ST)

Barry
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 6027
Age : 71
Location : Port Weller, St. Catharines, Canada
Registration date : 2009-05-01

http://www.barryeames.com

Back to top Go down

re: best covers

Post by IanO on Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:41 pm

Not one of my all time greats but bloody impressive-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GFqTd-CEjHM&feature=fvsr
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZpD0btOZx8&NR=1

On a more serious note - i love this (not for the purist)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hiBMvp4fxT4

IanO
Senior Member

Number of posts : 259
Location : Cambridge U.K.
Registration date : 2011-02-04

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Thu Feb 10, 2011 2:27 am

Good ol' "Mr Scary"; I still like listening to Dokken on occasion!!

The Korean fella is clever, no question, but that whole 2 guitar thing leaves me cold; I've watched Michael Angelo do it live and whilst technically impressive, it's a bit, well, wanky, really....


I'm just jealous....


Last edited by corsair on Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:01 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : typo)

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5213
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Barry on Thu Feb 10, 2011 10:48 am

He left me shaking my head. Amazing technical ability, but...just because you can do something, doesn't necessarily mean you should.
This guy should be playing piano methinks.

_________________
"A little song. A little dance. A little seltzer down your pants." -Chuckles the Clown


GUITARS : http://legend.barryeames.com/guitars.html
MUSIC/PIX/VIDEOS: http://getback.barryeames.com (including Spectrum ST)

Barry
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 6027
Age : 71
Location : Port Weller, St. Catharines, Canada
Registration date : 2009-05-01

http://www.barryeames.com

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by The Chad on Thu Feb 10, 2011 4:23 pm

I don't listen to many covers, but these are some of my favorites:

Ace Frehley, tearing up ELO's "Do Ya"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jTrp02hpI2E

Red, doing a thought provoking job on Duran Duran's "Ordinary World"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQeq_T_2VE8

The Chad
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 2453
Location : Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Registration date : 2011-02-01

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:04 pm

Hey man; both of those are very good indeed; thank you!! Smile

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5213
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by The Chad on Fri Feb 11, 2011 8:38 am

Ace's "Do Ya" is great, isn't it? That's my favorite, along with "People are Strange" which someone else already took!

The Chad
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 2453
Location : Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Registration date : 2011-02-01

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:08 am

The Chad wrote: ... along with "People are Strange" which someone else already took!

Ah, yeah; that was me!!!

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5213
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by anaerobe on Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:32 am

I find this to be pretty tasty:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6QUWkFeGQ0A

Rush does up "The Seeker".

BTW these are some great vids here.... bonamassa is nothing short of fabulous, and the Inca Roads cover essentially defines "courageous".


Last edited by anaerobe on Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:52 am; edited 1 time in total

anaerobe
Senior Member

Number of posts : 497
Age : 55
Location : ,location, location.
Registration date : 2009-05-05

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by anaerobe on Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:38 am

Oh, we get to post two, yes?

Well - here's #2 from me....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FanTQ72IqDY

The Who covering a little-known Eddie Cochran tune. Smile Smile

anaerobe
Senior Member

Number of posts : 497
Age : 55
Location : ,location, location.
Registration date : 2009-05-05

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:55 pm

YES!! Another 2 pearlers there, thanks, Ian!! I reckon I was the only person in NZ to have Feedback when it first came out, eh!! Lucy and I are going to see them in Newcastle-upon-Tyne in May... Rock on!!

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5213
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by THEBARRON on Sat Feb 12, 2011 8:33 am

I am not to sure how to link the youtube clips, however..

ATROCITY, Fade to grey. Was well vamped up. (check out the clip, makes me want to live in a cage).lol

Gary Moore, Live version of Red House. I would love to see how many times I have watched the clip.
Cheers,
Richie..

THEBARRON
Westone Nut

Number of posts : 95
Age : 42
Location : VICTORIA ,AUSTRALIA
Registration date : 2010-04-11

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!

Post by fish on Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:07 pm

THEBARRON wrote:I am not to sure how to link the youtube clips, however..

ATROCITY, Fade to grey. Was well vamped up. (check out the clip, makes me want to live in a cage).lol

Gary Moore, Live version of Red House. I would love to see how many times I have watched the clip.
Cheers,
Richie..


Agreed; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXYjEMTQRm0

Mind, this may be a bit heavy for us old'uns http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDF2RS6Rmv4 speaking for myself of course.
With you on the Cage though. Very Happy


Last edited by fish on Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:04 pm; edited 1 time in total

fish
Senior Member

Number of posts : 277
Location : UK.
Registration date : 2010-12-16

http://www.fisherrestoration.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by caucajun on Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:12 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UQ3BVsSoA2E

caucajun
Senior Member

Number of posts : 418
Age : 53
Location : WAY too close to New Orleans!
Registration date : 2008-07-29

Back to top Go down

re: best covers

Post by IanO on Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:32 pm

Caucajun great dungerees on your clip.

How about these:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SmVAWKfJ4Go&feature=related

and for the heavier persuasion:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q1dv5D9PFvA

mosh.............and enjoy

IanO
Senior Member

Number of posts : 259
Location : Cambridge U.K.
Registration date : 2011-02-04

Back to top Go down

re: best covers

Post by IanO on Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:41 pm

I know that only 2 allowed but I forgot this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lp2LgqJvp8U

know it's the dreaded X factor but an astounding vocal by any standard. Check out the BBC Radio 1 live lounge version for a great live version

IanO
Senior Member

Number of posts : 259
Location : Cambridge U.K.
Registration date : 2011-02-04

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Sat Feb 12, 2011 6:28 pm

IanO wrote:and for the heavier persuasion: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q1dv5D9PFvA

I liked all of Garage Inc except that one!! Laughing I thought Extreme did a fabulous job of it at Freddy's tribute gig...

Caucajun great dungerees on your clip.

Yeah; they're good, eh!!

And if you can have 3 then so can I; "Cum feel the noize" - Quiet Riot...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E2GZLRdFWVQ&feature=related

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5213
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

re: best covers

Post by IanO on Sat Feb 12, 2011 7:03 pm

For some reason that clip reminded me of Dio - Killswitch Engage did a great cover of holy diver. Check out the guitarists lamb chops and the drummers beard - obviously to much for one man alone, I'm green with envy!

IanO
Senior Member

Number of posts : 259
Location : Cambridge U.K.
Registration date : 2011-02-04

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by anaerobe on Mon Feb 14, 2011 10:43 am

[/quote]John wrote:
"I reckon I was the only person in NZ to have Feedback when it first came out, eh!! Lucy and I are going to see them in Newcastle-upon-Tyne in May... Rock on!!"[quote]

Good job eh.... let us know how that pans out.

Ian

anaerobe
Senior Member

Number of posts : 497
Age : 55
Location : ,location, location.
Registration date : 2009-05-05

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by anaerobe on Mon Feb 14, 2011 10:53 am



Hayseed Dixie? Hmmm... Hayseed Dixie. Hayseed Dixie!!!


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muyqMrsuLXw&feature=related


WARNING: Don't have a mouthful of tea when you are watching this one.

anaerobe
Senior Member

Number of posts : 497
Age : 55
Location : ,location, location.
Registration date : 2009-05-05

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Philby on Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:27 pm

I only need 1. Twist and Shout by The Beatles.

The way Lennon shreds his vocal cords on this cover, you could have sworn he was claiming ownership.

Philby
Registered Member

Number of posts : 4
Age : 48
Location : Melbourne, Australia
Registration date : 2011-02-13

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by anaerobe on Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:30 pm

We may have a winnah. Cool

anaerobe
Senior Member

Number of posts : 497
Age : 55
Location : ,location, location.
Registration date : 2009-05-05

Back to top Go down

re: best covers

Post by IanO on Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:34 pm

Gonna be hard to beat

IanO
Senior Member

Number of posts : 259
Location : Cambridge U.K.
Registration date : 2011-02-04

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Mon Feb 14, 2011 6:24 pm

It certainly has the pedigree.... Laughing

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5213
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by THEBARRON on Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:42 am

Thanks for putting those clips up for me FISH..
Cheers,
Richie..

Also, do the Beatles top the lot due to sales?

THEBARRON
Westone Nut

Number of posts : 95
Age : 42
Location : VICTORIA ,AUSTRALIA
Registration date : 2010-04-11

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:03 am

That... and the fact that they were a bloody good covers band, and that was a top cover!! Laughing

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5213
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Iceman on Sat Feb 26, 2011 5:13 pm

I'm not digging too deep here but Voodoo Chile and Chitlins con Carne by SRV always brighten my day.

Iceman
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 2859
Age : 53
Location : Up North
Registration date : 2011-02-22

http://www.glowingtubes.com/p/Kahler_Instructions.htm

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Sun Feb 27, 2011 4:11 am

I know it's a bit heretical, but I start yawning when I hear Hendrix, either played by Hendrix or by anyone else. Over-exposure, perhaps?!

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5213
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Barry on Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:44 am

Yeah, I know what you mean.
Hendrix was seminal but after 40+ years of hearing the same riffs over and over something inside gets bit numb to it all.
Pity.

_________________
"A little song. A little dance. A little seltzer down your pants." -Chuckles the Clown


GUITARS : http://legend.barryeames.com/guitars.html
MUSIC/PIX/VIDEOS: http://getback.barryeames.com (including Spectrum ST)

Barry
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 6027
Age : 71
Location : Port Weller, St. Catharines, Canada
Registration date : 2009-05-01

http://www.barryeames.com

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Iceman on Sun Feb 27, 2011 7:31 pm

corsair wrote:I know it's a bit heretical, but I start yawning when I hear Hendrix, either played by Hendrix or by anyone else. Over-exposure, perhaps?!

True, true. But how often is Kenny Burrell recorded by someone so mainstream? (He offers up valiantly in rebuttal) Laughing

Iceman
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 2859
Age : 53
Location : Up North
Registration date : 2011-02-22

http://www.glowingtubes.com/p/Kahler_Instructions.htm

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Guest on Sun Feb 27, 2011 7:52 pm

While not guitar related covers I like these two.

Toad the Wet Sprocket redoing a classic Kiss song. I like this one because I think Kiss is the most overrated band ever - not a fan, and Toad changed it to a folky melodic song. They also changed it from 4/4 to 3/4 which is pretty clever I think -who changes the time signature when covering a song? awesome.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWehJZaxqI0



The second is Rolling Stones' Wild Horses as done by The Sundays. I like this one because again I think the Stones are way over rated. While Jagger is a great performer, I'm not a fan of his voice. The gal in the sundays has an angelic voice and really brings the melody to the forefront.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u9lEd5bIbbQ

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:41 pm

@Iceman.... That's cause Burrell's music isn't exactly mainstream; I love Kenny Burrell and am still - after 15 years - trying to get to grips with Bye and bye!! I liked SRV when he took his foot off the pedal a bit...

@Sarcaster... Wow.. very nice indeed; like 'em both but especially Wild horses!!

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5213
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Guest on Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:24 pm

corsair wrote:
@Sarcaster... Wow.. very nice indeed; like 'em both but especially Wild horses!!

Ya, her voice and the subtle guitar made a good song even better IMO. Wish both Toad and the Sundays were still around.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Sponsored content Today at 8:06 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum