In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Page 2 of 3 Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:08 am

The Chad wrote: ... along with "People are Strange" which someone else already took!

Ah, yeah; that was me!!!

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5209
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by anaerobe on Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:32 am

I find this to be pretty tasty:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6QUWkFeGQ0A

Rush does up "The Seeker".

BTW these are some great vids here.... bonamassa is nothing short of fabulous, and the Inca Roads cover essentially defines "courageous".


Last edited by anaerobe on Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:52 am; edited 1 time in total

anaerobe
Senior Member

Number of posts : 497
Age : 55
Location : ,location, location.
Registration date : 2009-05-05

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by anaerobe on Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:38 am

Oh, we get to post two, yes?

Well - here's #2 from me....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FanTQ72IqDY

The Who covering a little-known Eddie Cochran tune. Smile Smile

anaerobe
Senior Member

Number of posts : 497
Age : 55
Location : ,location, location.
Registration date : 2009-05-05

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:55 pm

YES!! Another 2 pearlers there, thanks, Ian!! I reckon I was the only person in NZ to have Feedback when it first came out, eh!! Lucy and I are going to see them in Newcastle-upon-Tyne in May... Rock on!!

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5209
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by THEBARRON on Sat Feb 12, 2011 8:33 am

I am not to sure how to link the youtube clips, however..

ATROCITY, Fade to grey. Was well vamped up. (check out the clip, makes me want to live in a cage).lol

Gary Moore, Live version of Red House. I would love to see how many times I have watched the clip.
Cheers,
Richie..

THEBARRON
Westone Nut

Number of posts : 95
Age : 42
Location : VICTORIA ,AUSTRALIA
Registration date : 2010-04-11

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!

Post by fish on Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:07 pm

THEBARRON wrote:I am not to sure how to link the youtube clips, however..

ATROCITY, Fade to grey. Was well vamped up. (check out the clip, makes me want to live in a cage).lol

Gary Moore, Live version of Red House. I would love to see how many times I have watched the clip.
Cheers,
Richie..


Agreed; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXYjEMTQRm0

Mind, this may be a bit heavy for us old'uns http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDF2RS6Rmv4 speaking for myself of course.
With you on the Cage though. Very Happy


Last edited by fish on Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:04 pm; edited 1 time in total

fish
Senior Member

Number of posts : 277
Location : UK.
Registration date : 2010-12-16

http://www.fisherrestoration.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by caucajun on Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:12 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UQ3BVsSoA2E

caucajun
Senior Member

Number of posts : 418
Age : 53
Location : WAY too close to New Orleans!
Registration date : 2008-07-29

Back to top Go down

re: best covers

Post by IanO on Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:32 pm

Caucajun great dungerees on your clip.

How about these:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SmVAWKfJ4Go&feature=related

and for the heavier persuasion:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q1dv5D9PFvA

mosh.............and enjoy

IanO
Senior Member

Number of posts : 259
Location : Cambridge U.K.
Registration date : 2011-02-04

Back to top Go down

re: best covers

Post by IanO on Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:41 pm

I know that only 2 allowed but I forgot this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lp2LgqJvp8U

know it's the dreaded X factor but an astounding vocal by any standard. Check out the BBC Radio 1 live lounge version for a great live version

IanO
Senior Member

Number of posts : 259
Location : Cambridge U.K.
Registration date : 2011-02-04

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Sat Feb 12, 2011 6:28 pm

IanO wrote:and for the heavier persuasion: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q1dv5D9PFvA

I liked all of Garage Inc except that one!! Laughing I thought Extreme did a fabulous job of it at Freddy's tribute gig...

Caucajun great dungerees on your clip.

Yeah; they're good, eh!!

And if you can have 3 then so can I; "Cum feel the noize" - Quiet Riot...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E2GZLRdFWVQ&feature=related

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5209
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

re: best covers

Post by IanO on Sat Feb 12, 2011 7:03 pm

For some reason that clip reminded me of Dio - Killswitch Engage did a great cover of holy diver. Check out the guitarists lamb chops and the drummers beard - obviously to much for one man alone, I'm green with envy!

IanO
Senior Member

Number of posts : 259
Location : Cambridge U.K.
Registration date : 2011-02-04

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by anaerobe on Mon Feb 14, 2011 10:43 am

[/quote]John wrote:
"I reckon I was the only person in NZ to have Feedback when it first came out, eh!! Lucy and I are going to see them in Newcastle-upon-Tyne in May... Rock on!!"[quote]

Good job eh.... let us know how that pans out.

Ian

anaerobe
Senior Member

Number of posts : 497
Age : 55
Location : ,location, location.
Registration date : 2009-05-05

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by anaerobe on Mon Feb 14, 2011 10:53 am



Hayseed Dixie? Hmmm... Hayseed Dixie. Hayseed Dixie!!!


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muyqMrsuLXw&feature=related


WARNING: Don't have a mouthful of tea when you are watching this one.

anaerobe
Senior Member

Number of posts : 497
Age : 55
Location : ,location, location.
Registration date : 2009-05-05

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Philby on Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:27 pm

I only need 1. Twist and Shout by The Beatles.

The way Lennon shreds his vocal cords on this cover, you could have sworn he was claiming ownership.

Philby
Registered Member

Number of posts : 4
Age : 48
Location : Melbourne, Australia
Registration date : 2011-02-13

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by anaerobe on Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:30 pm

We may have a winnah. Cool

anaerobe
Senior Member

Number of posts : 497
Age : 55
Location : ,location, location.
Registration date : 2009-05-05

Back to top Go down

re: best covers

Post by IanO on Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:34 pm

Gonna be hard to beat

IanO
Senior Member

Number of posts : 259
Location : Cambridge U.K.
Registration date : 2011-02-04

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Mon Feb 14, 2011 6:24 pm

It certainly has the pedigree.... Laughing

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5209
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by THEBARRON on Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:42 am

Thanks for putting those clips up for me FISH..
Cheers,
Richie..

Also, do the Beatles top the lot due to sales?

THEBARRON
Westone Nut

Number of posts : 95
Age : 42
Location : VICTORIA ,AUSTRALIA
Registration date : 2010-04-11

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:03 am

That... and the fact that they were a bloody good covers band, and that was a top cover!! Laughing

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5209
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Iceman on Sat Feb 26, 2011 5:13 pm

I'm not digging too deep here but Voodoo Chile and Chitlins con Carne by SRV always brighten my day.

Iceman
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 2859
Age : 53
Location : Up North
Registration date : 2011-02-22

http://www.glowingtubes.com/p/Kahler_Instructions.htm

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Sun Feb 27, 2011 4:11 am

I know it's a bit heretical, but I start yawning when I hear Hendrix, either played by Hendrix or by anyone else. Over-exposure, perhaps?!

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5209
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Barry on Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:44 am

Yeah, I know what you mean.
Hendrix was seminal but after 40+ years of hearing the same riffs over and over something inside gets bit numb to it all.
Pity.

_________________
"A little song. A little dance. A little seltzer down your pants." -Chuckles the Clown


GUITARS : http://legend.barryeames.com/guitars.html
MUSIC/PIX/VIDEOS: http://getback.barryeames.com (including Spectrum ST)

Barry
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 6021
Age : 71
Location : Port Weller, St. Catharines, Canada
Registration date : 2009-05-01

http://www.barryeames.com

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Iceman on Sun Feb 27, 2011 7:31 pm

corsair wrote:I know it's a bit heretical, but I start yawning when I hear Hendrix, either played by Hendrix or by anyone else. Over-exposure, perhaps?!

True, true. But how often is Kenny Burrell recorded by someone so mainstream? (He offers up valiantly in rebuttal) Laughing

Iceman
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 2859
Age : 53
Location : Up North
Registration date : 2011-02-22

http://www.glowingtubes.com/p/Kahler_Instructions.htm

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Guest on Sun Feb 27, 2011 7:52 pm

While not guitar related covers I like these two.

Toad the Wet Sprocket redoing a classic Kiss song. I like this one because I think Kiss is the most overrated band ever - not a fan, and Toad changed it to a folky melodic song. They also changed it from 4/4 to 3/4 which is pretty clever I think -who changes the time signature when covering a song? awesome.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWehJZaxqI0



The second is Rolling Stones' Wild Horses as done by The Sundays. I like this one because again I think the Stones are way over rated. While Jagger is a great performer, I'm not a fan of his voice. The gal in the sundays has an angelic voice and really brings the melody to the forefront.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u9lEd5bIbbQ

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:41 pm

@Iceman.... That's cause Burrell's music isn't exactly mainstream; I love Kenny Burrell and am still - after 15 years - trying to get to grips with Bye and bye!! I liked SRV when he took his foot off the pedal a bit...

@Sarcaster... Wow.. very nice indeed; like 'em both but especially Wild horses!!

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5209
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Guest on Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:24 pm

corsair wrote:
@Sarcaster... Wow.. very nice indeed; like 'em both but especially Wild horses!!

Ya, her voice and the subtle guitar made a good song even better IMO. Wish both Toad and the Sundays were still around.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Sponsored content Today at 6:15 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 2 of 3 Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum