In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Page 3 of 3 Previous  1, 2, 3

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Guest on Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:24 pm

corsair wrote:
@Sarcaster... Wow.. very nice indeed; like 'em both but especially Wild horses!!

Ya, her voice and the subtle guitar made a good song even better IMO. Wish both Toad and the Sundays were still around.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Guest on Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:35 pm

Barry wrote:Pretty much a no-brainer for me: Harry Nilsson, Without You:
Without You

Who was he covering you ask? Badfinger, John Ham:
Without You

Ham wrote a terrific song, but Harry made it unforgettable. He had the most brilliant vocalizations since Sinatra.

Wow - never new the Harry version was a cover - cool. I hear Harry was a wacky guy, but he had a great voice.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Guest on Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:30 pm

One more to show:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kPsnBLaW1Jk&feature=related

Randy Jackson from Zebra. Zebra was an "almost made it" band in the states in the 80's and this guy is the king of 12 string. Sings better than Plant and plays better than Page and in my opinion is almost as good as a song writer than both.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by midhilis on Wed May 02, 2012 5:28 pm

This my be heresy, but ...

youtube.com/watch?v=aleL0UnIdSI&feature=fvst

midhilis
Westone Nut

Number of posts : 97
Age : 55
Location : Cramlington, Northumberland
Registration date : 2012-05-02

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by corsair on Wed May 02, 2012 7:29 pm

Spectacular version, I agree! Nice!

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5206
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Barry on Wed May 02, 2012 9:37 pm

+1 Really enjoyed that!

_________________
"A little song. A little dance. A little seltzer down your pants." -Chuckles the Clown


GUITARS : http://legend.barryeames.com/guitars.html
MUSIC/PIX/VIDEOS: http://getback.barryeames.com (including Spectrum ST)

Barry
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 6016
Age : 71
Location : Port Weller, St. Catharines, Canada
Registration date : 2009-05-01

http://www.barryeames.com

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by gittarasaurus on Fri May 04, 2012 1:23 am

one of my favorite covers ever is Jeff Beck's version of Superstion.

another favorite is The Dregs version of Kashmir


i couldn't find a video of the Dregs doing Kashmir, but check this one out....

The Steve Morse Band at a festival in Norway, with two young kids sitting in on keyboards and vocals,
doing an amazing performance of Highway Star

gittarasaurus
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 1207
Location : San Jose, CA
Registration date : 2011-05-25

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Iceman on Fri May 04, 2012 7:00 am

Now THAT is mentoring right there!! cheers bom cheers

Excellent dig, Mike. John will be along shortly I'm sure for a more indepth review but IMHO I'll just say that THAT WAS ROCKING!

Iceman
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 2859
Age : 53
Location : Up North
Registration date : 2011-02-22

http://www.glowingtubes.com/p/Kahler_Instructions.htm

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by EvilVOG on Fri May 04, 2012 1:46 pm

The Gourds (aka PHISH) covering Snoop Dog's Gin and Juice NSFW
Link

Primus pretty much anything they cover, but specifically "Master of Puppets" by Metallica
http://youtu.be/9USb_OQza44

EvilVOG
Westone Nut

Number of posts : 94
Location : Detroit, Mi
Registration date : 2011-11-14

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by METESKY on Fri May 04, 2012 4:41 pm

Jealous Guy Roxy Music covering John Lennon

Town Without Pity Ronnie Montrose covering Gene Pitney



As a personal fave it was tough not to throw this one on the pile Mr. Moonlight The Beatle covering Dr. Feelgood

METESKY
Westone Nut

Number of posts : 69
Location : Middle Tennessee, US
Registration date : 2012-04-01

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by hobster on Fri May 04, 2012 7:09 pm

[quote="EvilVOG"]The Gourds (aka PHISH) covering Snoop Dog's Gin and Juice NSFW
Link

One of my all time favorites. Very Happy I loved Snoop when he came out in the early 90's. Stiil do. The Gourds are from Texas and have nothing to do with Phish (from VT) by the way. A bootleg Phish tape circulated in the 90's w/ this Gourds filler and many people thought it was Phish bit it wasn't. I'm a big Phish phan, i've seen them many,many times.

hobster
Senior Member

Number of posts : 678
Age : 47
Location : Eugene, Oregon
Registration date : 2009-08-16

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by EvilVOG on Fri May 04, 2012 8:01 pm

ok, when i first heard it it was marked as primus i think.

EvilVOG
Westone Nut

Number of posts : 94
Location : Detroit, Mi
Registration date : 2011-11-14

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by hobster on Fri May 04, 2012 10:12 pm

One of my favorites - Frank Zappa's version of Stairway to Heaven. Has some Zappa silliness but the musicianship is excellent as all Zappa bands were. Not the best version (recording or video) but its worth a listen, especially at about 7 minutes in when the Page solo is performed by a horn section. FZ forever!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1QsSEAvwRac

hobster
Senior Member

Number of posts : 678
Age : 47
Location : Eugene, Oregon
Registration date : 2009-08-16

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Sgt. Vimes on Sat May 05, 2012 4:30 am

despite the tv/radio overkill...I still vote for Johnny Cash - Hurt, because it is so poignant coming just weeks before his passing away, the video is touching, still brings a lump to my throat Crying or Very sad

and Dread Zeppelin - Black Dog, because it still sounds fresh after all these years

Sgt. Vimes
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 3101
Age : 45
Location : tyneside
Registration date : 2011-11-03

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by westcoaster on Sat May 05, 2012 10:46 am

Beat me to the line on johnny cash "hurt". One of those rare occasions where the cover surpasses the original. That song just seems to have been made for him.

Another great cover - Rodrigo y gabriela "Orion".

westcoaster
Senior Member

Number of posts : 462
Age : 51
Registration date : 2011-09-22

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by grogg on Sat May 05, 2012 4:52 pm

hobster wrote:One of my favorites - Frank Zappa's version of Stairway to Heaven.
Dont forget Rolf's version! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPOIy4Kb9M4

grogg
Senior Member

Number of posts : 1076
Location : Cardiff
Registration date : 2008-11-28

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by grogg on Sat May 05, 2012 5:25 pm

westcoaster wrote:Another great cover - Rodrigo y gabriela "Orion".
With you there.

grogg
Senior Member

Number of posts : 1076
Location : Cardiff
Registration date : 2008-11-28

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by beavis on Mon May 07, 2012 6:10 am

Sgt. Vimes wrote:despite the tv/radio overkill...I still vote for Johnny Cash - Hurt, because it is so poignant coming just weeks before his passing away, the video is touching, still brings a lump to my throat Crying or Very sad

I'm with you all the way. Cash's covers are great and often transcend the originals.

I also love Roberta Flack's Bridge over troubled water. It's as good as it gets.

beavis
Senior Member

Number of posts : 378
Registration date : 2011-01-19

Back to top Go down

Re: In your opinion, the best cover song recorded?? Only 2 allowed!!

Post by Sponsored content Today at 4:51 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 3 of 3 Previous  1, 2, 3

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum