Opinions on this one please

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Opinions on this one please

Post by hoax on Sat May 26, 2012 7:38 pm

I have an addiction regarding building Telecasters. I think that this is shared by at least Sollophonic and possibly many others. What do you guys think of this one. I am not trying to sell it here and will never do that.

It is expensive, I know, but I am just trying to solicit opinions regarding spec, appearance, desirability etc, before modifying the formula, as there are at least another four in the pipeline.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/230798252065?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

Hoax :?:


Last edited by hoax on Sat May 26, 2012 8:04 pm; edited 1 time in total

hoax
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 1104
Age : 57
Location : Bothwell
Registration date : 2009-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by corsair on Sat May 26, 2012 7:40 pm

Do you like it? Can you see past the price? Then have at it, sir!! Very Happy

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5206
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by Iceman on Sat May 26, 2012 7:49 pm

Definitely a different brand of tea you're steeping there, Graham. Suspect

I would be interested in how it sounds. Does the aluminum brighten the tone even further than a standard build Tele?

As iconic as they have become it is a bold step away from the norm, and that does earn my respect.

Iceman
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 2859
Age : 53
Location : Up North
Registration date : 2011-02-22

http://www.glowingtubes.com/p/Kahler_Instructions.htm

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by Guest on Sat May 26, 2012 7:55 pm

I bought some Alder for my first Tele from scratch project, and really cant wait to get my planer/jointer so I can progress. I love my USA Tele that I already have. I love Tele's. And the thing I like about them is they are simple, but sound unique. and a good unique.

That being said, I'm not a fan of the Z style aluminum stuff. Just not my style. I would love to hear how it affects the sound though.
In the long run if it sounds good, its cool, but a bit too gaudy looking for me .

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by Guest on Sat May 26, 2012 7:58 pm

Is it yours Hoax? If so..I know there is a great Tele forum (don't have the link currently) but they do all kinds of mods to tele's over there - some are real way out there and some are just brilliant. I'll see if I can find the link as I was going to joind in when i build mine.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by hoax on Sat May 26, 2012 8:14 pm

Yup

I am Spartacus!!

I built with this an elderly artist named Jimmy Ringo. I do not like flash guitars either, but I think I might just keep this one as it is number one. It is beautiful, but that is more down to the work involved in making it happen.

Sounds like an animal !! - Aluminium has no effect on tone.

I am only looking for opinions regarding spec, desirability and potential improvements and do not want sell on this forum.

Wild West, Pirate and Harley are coming soon.

Hoax


Last edited by hoax on Mon May 28, 2012 4:51 pm; edited 1 time in total

hoax
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 1104
Age : 57
Location : Bothwell
Registration date : 2009-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by Barry on Sat May 26, 2012 8:53 pm

Well Graham, at least you won't have to worry about shielding!

_________________
"A little song. A little dance. A little seltzer down your pants." -Chuckles the Clown


GUITARS : http://legend.barryeames.com/guitars.html
MUSIC/PIX/VIDEOS: http://getback.barryeames.com (including Spectrum ST)

Barry
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 6017
Age : 71
Location : Port Weller, St. Catharines, Canada
Registration date : 2009-05-01

http://www.barryeames.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by corsair on Sat May 26, 2012 10:15 pm

The most clever Tele build I've ever seen is this one....



...built from scratch with pallet timber, and superimposed is a technical drawing of a Telecaster! It's bound everywhere and that monochrome thing really lights my candle!!

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5206
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by westcoaster on Sun May 27, 2012 7:13 am

Not a huge fan of teles but that tech drawing one is great. Tempted to have a go at building one like it.

westcoaster
Senior Member

Number of posts : 462
Age : 51
Registration date : 2011-09-22

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by Barry on Sun May 27, 2012 12:57 pm

As an ex-engineering draftsman that Tele resonates wif me too, also, as well.

_________________
"A little song. A little dance. A little seltzer down your pants." -Chuckles the Clown


GUITARS : http://legend.barryeames.com/guitars.html
MUSIC/PIX/VIDEOS: http://getback.barryeames.com (including Spectrum ST)

Barry
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 6017
Age : 71
Location : Port Weller, St. Catharines, Canada
Registration date : 2009-05-01

http://www.barryeames.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by Iceman on Sun May 27, 2012 9:44 pm

Well Graham you can officially mark me down in the "I like it" column. That aluminum gives it a kitschy, late '50's Space Age look and vibe.

Have you considered building a Lucy Tele yet?

Iceman
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 2859
Age : 53
Location : Up North
Registration date : 2011-02-22

http://www.glowingtubes.com/p/Kahler_Instructions.htm

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by grogg on Mon May 28, 2012 3:38 pm

Hi Graham, not my cup of tea Im afraid but appreciate the craft thats gone into it. Nice job.

grogg
Senior Member

Number of posts : 1076
Location : Cardiff
Registration date : 2008-11-28

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by hoax on Mon May 28, 2012 6:15 pm


Hey Ice

What is a Lucy tele? I am intrigued.

Hoax

hoax
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 1104
Age : 57
Location : Bothwell
Registration date : 2009-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by Iceman on Mon May 28, 2012 6:41 pm

hoax wrote:
Hey Ice

What is a Lucy tele? I am intrigued.

Hoax

Lucite. Like the Dan Armstrong models back in the 70's and the clones that invariably follow. Some of those must have made it over to that side of the pond, right?

Link is below. Look to the bottom of the home page...

http://www.bucciguitars.com/custom.htm

Iceman
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 2859
Age : 53
Location : Up North
Registration date : 2011-02-22

http://www.glowingtubes.com/p/Kahler_Instructions.htm

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by corsair on Tue May 29, 2012 2:02 am

You know Electra made some Lucite ones as well, right, Steve?

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5206
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by Iceman on Tue May 29, 2012 8:11 pm

corsair wrote:You know Electra made some Lucite ones as well, right, Steve?

Yup. Saw one up close and personal several months back.

Dude wanted a king'$ ransom for it unfortunately

Iceman
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 2859
Age : 53
Location : Up North
Registration date : 2011-02-22

http://www.glowingtubes.com/p/Kahler_Instructions.htm

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by corsair on Tue May 29, 2012 9:13 pm

What was the sound like? I'm picking it would be very bright??

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5206
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by Iceman on Tue May 29, 2012 10:04 pm

Sad to say I have no idea as I never plugged it in.

The idgit stated his price about 30 seconds into me giving it a look over. When I nearly dropped it from shock he asked if I had it with me. When I told him no he promptly reached over, pulled it back and gave me the old Spanish Archer towards the door. His listing had said offers considered and negotiable but he had not listed a price range.

Put it this way... I could have picked up more than 4 of boutjp's recent x390pw wins for what he wanted to get out of it.

Doesn't JD over at Electra still own one? At one point in time I recall he did.

Iceman
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 2859
Age : 53
Location : Up North
Registration date : 2011-02-22

http://www.glowingtubes.com/p/Kahler_Instructions.htm

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by corsair on Wed May 30, 2012 1:53 am

Well, if he doesn't, Arthur will!! Laughing

_________________
FWIW, an after market esoteric nut is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist, and a great way to convert your money into someone else’s.

corsair
Administrator

Number of posts : 5206
Age : 57
Location : Hervey Bay, Australia.
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by beavis on Wed May 30, 2012 7:15 am

I remember trying out one of these lucite things. They are very heavy from what I recall (at least the Dan Armstrong ones). Nothing special about the tone, but I can't remember it too well.

beavis
Senior Member

Number of posts : 378
Registration date : 2011-01-19

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by Westbone on Wed May 30, 2012 8:55 am

Looks different Graham. Quite like it.
At that asking price I would have thought a better bridge than a top loader, at least through body stringing.

Is that etched or engraved on the ally?

Westbone
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 4778
Location : Redbridge
Registration date : 2008-12-28

http://www.chruler.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by westcoaster on Wed May 30, 2012 9:56 am

Graham,

After thinking about it this has inspired me to have a go at a tele so im looking at parts just now. Interested in how you did the logo - did you print it yourself.

westcoaster
Senior Member

Number of posts : 462
Age : 51
Registration date : 2011-09-22

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by Westbone on Wed May 30, 2012 11:35 am

Try these, cheap as chips and ok. Plus you get 2 (just in case)
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/320905387289?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

Or top quality.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/190481757401?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

I've used both

The second one's are super thin and top class.

Here's one of the cheapies. This is a 70's style logo.



Westbone
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 4778
Location : Redbridge
Registration date : 2008-12-28

http://www.chruler.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by hoax on Wed May 30, 2012 12:05 pm

Westbone

The price is a fair bit higher than I need as I am hoping to avoid Ebay fees by accepting a lower offer outwith. I deliberately put it in high for a couple of reasons.

1. Artists are expensive
2. If I put it in for what I needed, I would still be the victim of lowballers. I know cause I do it myself.

Your right about the toploader, but I had no strung through bodies when I built this one. Also I was toying with sticking on a Bigsby. I think also that many Jap teles had toploaders and they aint cheap.

The Aluminium is all hand engraved.

Westcoaster

I did print the logo myself. Get in touch if you want some for free.

Hoax

hoax
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 1104
Age : 57
Location : Bothwell
Registration date : 2009-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by westcoaster on Wed May 30, 2012 12:22 pm

Graham, I'm sure it's been said before here, just to reiterate - you're a star. When I get my bits n pieces I'll definitely take you up on that, best way I imagine would be for me to send you a prepaid envelope. Still a little bit in the future, doing a bit of research and don't want to buy one of those tele kits as I'm dubious about the quality.

westcoaster
Senior Member

Number of posts : 462
Age : 51
Registration date : 2011-09-22

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on this one please

Post by Sponsored content Today at 8:15 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum