MMK53 pickup opinions

View previous topic View next topic Go down

MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by The Chad on Thu Jul 26, 2012 12:29 pm

Wondering as to opinions on these pups. I've got an Electra X935cs with MMK53's in it, and so far I like my MMK45's better.

Anyone who owns a MMK53 equipped instrument, please chime in with your opinions and what guitars they're in.

The Chad
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 2467
Location : Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Registration date : 2011-02-01

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by Barry on Thu Jul 26, 2012 1:38 pm

Never 'bin lucky enough to get my hands on 53's, but from what I understand they're a very different pup. Perhaps more suited to a jazzier style of guitar than a solid body in most cases.

The aggressive bark of the 45 doesn't sound its best in all models but seems right at home in LP/Strat style guitars.

_________________
"A little song. A little dance. A little seltzer down your pants." -Chuckles the Clown


GUITARS : http://legend.barryeames.com/guitars.html
MUSIC/PIX/VIDEOS: http://getback.barryeames.com (including Spectrum ST)

Barry
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 6119
Age : 71
Location : Port Weller, St. Catharines, Canada
Registration date : 2009-05-01

http://www.barryeames.com

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by The Chad on Thu Jul 26, 2012 2:04 pm

You're right Barry, it is different. My Electra is an LP style, made very well, very beautiful, but I haven't yet fully appreciated her sound. Can't describe it, I want a little more bite or punch from her that I haven't gotten yet. Although it does remind me of a 45 in a way, however, in that it sounds a little "hollow", which is also hard to describe. Laughing I don't know. It sounds good to my ear though, yes. I think I'm just getting picky with my "tone", whatever that means.

Check out the link, you'll see what I mean here:
Electra x935cs demo, from Mike at the Electra Forums

I want to hear opinions from all you MMK53 owners!

The Chad
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 2467
Location : Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Registration date : 2011-02-01

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by gittarasaurus on Thu Jul 26, 2012 4:25 pm

my thunder IIA has MMK53's

it is hard for me to separate the pickups and the guitar. on the thunder IIA you get coil split, in/out phase, active electronics...

as passive humbuckers they are thick and creamy sounding. very full at the low and mids and not really bright in the highs. when you kick in the active circuit they just blaze! the high end is boosted up and the punch to the amp is fantastic. will overdrive any amp into some nice fat crunchy distortion. the sustain and feedback i can get is awesome. they even get a bit microphonic when set to 11! *

they do pretty well in single coil mode too. they become quite clear and sharp and even a bit of sparkle. far less response in the low end when in single coil, but maybe more balanced between highs and lows than with the humbucker. again, the active circuits pushes them stronger and gives a bit more body to the single coil sound. when in single coil and out of phase you kick in the active circuit and you can keep a good signal going to the amp instead of how diminished it would be otherwise. so i find that a very useful setting.

i found uses for pretty much every setting available on the Thunder IIA. certainly a big part of what i like is the active circuit. but even without using it there are good tones to be had in most settings.

* - microphonics...
the voice at the beginning on this track, is my voice through the bridge pickup on my Thunder IIA. i have the active circuit on at full volume and my face right up to the pickup. most of the album had the basic tracks recorded live in the studio in one or two takes, and then overdub vocals and solos later. our recording sessions were pretty crazy and we did lots of impulsive things and some of them ended up on the album. somebody suggested it just before we recorded the track and it was a good take, so we kept it.

this is one my favorite tracks on the album. i wrote the music, bart the drummer wrote the lyrics and sings lead vocals. i'm playing my thunder through some pedals and into a fender twin reverb.
Earth For A Day - Koo Koo Heads

gittarasaurus
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 1218
Location : San Jose, CA
Registration date : 2011-05-25

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by Iceman on Thu Jul 26, 2012 10:28 pm

A link for you here, Chad. You may have seen it already...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3odEjmKMqww&feature=youtube_gdata_player

This is the one in the same ProEndorser (Mike) over at Electra you have been chatting with. He goes thru the basics of your x935's tonal options.


...not that you need coaching or anything, of course...

Iceman
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 2859
Age : 53
Location : Up North
Registration date : 2011-02-22

http://www.glowingtubes.com/p/Kahler_Instructions.htm

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by Iceman on Thu Jul 26, 2012 10:45 pm

More to the point of your original question I have to say that I'm not quite certain.

Dunno if the Session II has '53's or '61's in it. Whatever they are I luv, luv, LUV the sound of 'em. In that body style at least they do not seem terribly microphonic at all.

My 2588 Skylark (the blue one) is supposed to have '53's in it but when I changed out the strings I neglected to confirm it. Whatever the pups are in that they are absolutely savage... '45's on steroids and HGH about covers it. But the tone options on that one can mask much of the basic signal as well without trying too hard.

Perhaps more time spent with your Endorser will bring your ears around to appreciate the differences you hear. Still a sweet score you made. Congratulations again. cheers

Iceman
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 2859
Age : 53
Location : Up North
Registration date : 2011-02-22

http://www.glowingtubes.com/p/Kahler_Instructions.htm

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by Tripi on Fri Jul 27, 2012 5:49 am

@guitarasaurus : very nice description of MMK53's sound, and nice track! Smile

Some Aria TS-400, 500, 600 have MMK53 in them called Protomatic III (No Transition Period Incarnations). I like them in my TS400.
One can listen to this pickups there : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NoadOd4qAy4&feature=relmfu

and other ts sound with effects :
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=aria+ts+400&sa=X&spell=1&search=Search&oi=spell

others aria's guitars may have MMK53 but I 've not searched... Embarassed


Tripi
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 28
Location : Paris
Registration date : 2012-05-13

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by Westbone on Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:20 pm

IMHO I think 53's are a bloody good pup.

I love the sound of my Thunder II and IIA. One of Westones better pups. Not a huge fan of Westone actives though. Prefare the passive sounds.

Ice. 61's are in your Session II, also a great sounding pup.

Westbone
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 4858
Location : Redbridge
Registration date : 2008-12-28

http://www.chruler.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by The Chad on Fri Jul 27, 2012 1:42 pm

Thanks for chiming in boys! Nice tracks for both of you that submitted, Guitarasaurus and Tripi. Thanks for those.

I'd dropped the pup height in my x935, restrung with Cobalts, and wow, big difference now. Low end is a lot more defined, and highs are smoother. I found myself really digging it last night. So much that I'll be playing it tonight with the band for a gig. Sounds real good with the Marshall JCM205. Les Pauls and Marshalls, you understand.

This guitar sounds very Les Paul-esque, as you think it would, so I'd like to hear a Thunder II with 53's, see how that differs. Also like to hear Ice's MMK61's. Very Happy

The Chad
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 2467
Location : Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Registration date : 2011-02-01

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by Westbone on Fri Jul 27, 2012 2:23 pm

That's a good looking and sounding guitar you have there Chad.

Hope your gig goes well, sure it will.Very Happy

I've a sound track/video of my Thunder II. I'll try to find it and post it up.

Westbone
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 4858
Location : Redbridge
Registration date : 2008-12-28

http://www.chruler.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by The Chad on Fri Jul 27, 2012 2:41 pm

Westbone wrote:That's a good looking and sounding guitar you have there Chad.

Hope your gig goes well, sure it will.Very Happy

I've a sound track/video of my Thunder II. I'll try to find it and post it up.

Thanks Damian, it's with my Blues/Rock band, so this guitar will suit just fine I hope. Sure want to hear that Thunder II clip, let me know if you find it!

The Chad
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 2467
Location : Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Registration date : 2011-02-01

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by Barry on Fri Jul 27, 2012 3:35 pm

The Chad wrote:...I'd dropped the pup height in my x935, restrung with Cobalts, and wow, big difference now...
Yup, that's the usual reaction I hear. The Ernie Ball Cobalts are fast becoming a popular item for many of our gigging clientele, and in many cases replacing the pure nickels. Not for all players or guitars though. But they can be dramatically different and even scare folks just a little with their increased out put and dynamic range. Some find the "feel" of them takes a bit of getting used to.

_________________
"A little song. A little dance. A little seltzer down your pants." -Chuckles the Clown


GUITARS : http://legend.barryeames.com/guitars.html
MUSIC/PIX/VIDEOS: http://getback.barryeames.com (including Spectrum ST)

Barry
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 6119
Age : 71
Location : Port Weller, St. Catharines, Canada
Registration date : 2009-05-01

http://www.barryeames.com

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by Westbone on Fri Aug 03, 2012 4:33 pm

The Chad wrote:
Westbone wrote:That's a good looking and sounding guitar you have there Chad.

Hope your gig goes well, sure it will.Very Happy

I've a sound track/video of my Thunder II. I'll try to find it and post it up.

Thanks Damian, it's with my Blues/Rock band, so this guitar will suit just fine I hope. Sure want to hear that Thunder II clip, let me know if you find it!

Not the best recording bit of a buzz.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O739MayD4MI&list=HL1344025730&feature=mh_lolz

Westbone
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 4858
Location : Redbridge
Registration date : 2008-12-28

http://www.chruler.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: MMK53 pickup opinions

Post by Sponsored content Today at 1:07 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum